Christmas Caroling Revelations

The past few years, my family has joined the masses in Jackson square for the annual Christmas Caroling. Since 1946, at approximately 6:30 p.m. hundreds of humans storm the gates of Jackson Square at the same time and stake their position outside of the St. Louis Cathedral to illuminate the center of the French Quarter with dozens and dozens of little candles.

However, prior to the peace of singing Silent Night and lighting up the dark December evening, is frantic chaos.

While waiting in a line that seemed to move at the speed of molasses, I looked up to see a little girl point and tell her Daddy that there was a line moving into the gate on the other side of the street. While hundreds of us tried to manipulate our way through the line and find the fastest route through the gate, this little girl outdid all of us….because she had a different viewpoint.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

She had an alternative perspective, the higher vision from her placement on her Father’s shoulders. It is from this perspective that she saw what others couldn’t. She saw the better way, and she entered first into the gates.

As we entered the gates, I thought back to shoulder rides as a little girl. Coming from New Orleans, I experienced a large portion of my childhood on my Daddy’s shoulders catching beads in parades. And every single time I sat there, I felt like a million gazillion bucks. When I sat there, high above the rest, I was special, seen, and could see others. I felt like royalty as I would watch my brother jump up and down to catch the beads from below while I sat safe and protected on my Daddy’s shoulders with a bird’s eye view.

As I got older, however, my Father was unable to carry me all the time anymore, and I got thrown into the mix of those trying to figure the best view from the ground.

Luckily, we have a Father who sits much higher whose shoulders do not grow weak and tired.

“For to us a child is born, to us a son is given, and the government will be on his shoulders. And he will be called Wonderful Counselor, Mighty God, Everlasting Father, Prince of Peace.”- Isaiah 9:6

Tonight, we sang of the birth of baby Jesus, the child who will be born unto us. Do you see what I see in the words following in that verse?! The government will be on his shoulders. If my heavenly Father can hold the government upon his shoulders, then you better believe he can hold one of his daughters, 20 years old, 5’5 and all, without needing to do reps at the gym two times a day.

And guess what. He has come, has been born unto us. He has been sent to raise us up, a people whose feet have grown weary from wandering, and offers us a seat of royalty on shoulders of strength, the shoulders of the Wonderful Counselor, Mighty God, Everlasting Father, and Prince of Peace.

As you reflect on the child who was born unto us, do not forget the latter half of Isaiah 9:6, for that child has grown to be the shoulders that are strong enough to carry the weight of glory and the weight of your weaknesses. These steadfast shoulders offer us a greater perspective in a world that is often difficult to navigate through.

Rest on His shoulders.

Gain New Perspective.

And enter the gates of his peace.

“When I am down and, oh, my soul, so weary;

When troubles come and my heart burdened be;

Then I am still and wait here in the silence,

Until you come and sit awhile with me.

You raise me up, so I can stand on mountains;

You raise me up to walk on stormy seas;

I am strong when I am on your shoulders;

You raise me up to more than I can be.

3 thoughts on “Christmas Caroling Revelations

Leave a Reply

